Bighorn Mountains Dendrochronology

The Bighorn Basin is bordered by the Bighorn Mountains on the east and the Absaroka Mountains on the west. Three study sites (in green, from north to south) are Inferno Canyon, MT (north of the Montana/Wyoming border), Trapper Creek Canyon, WY, and Cook's Canyon in the Tensleep Preserve, WY. Towns with meteorological stations are shown in yellow.

Image is an artificial color digital satellite image stretched over a digital elevation model to produce shaded relief. Copyright National Geographic Society. Click on the image for a larger view (50 kb).








Met data